Memphis City Schools

What is an I-Zone School?

     Innovation Zone (I-Zone) Schools: Innovation Zone Schools are schools that receive special funding in the form of a School Improvement Grant (SIG) and are afforded flexibilities and autonomy similar to those provided to ASD schools but that stay under the management of the local LEA (Memphis City Schools). I-Zone schools must adopt one of four turnaround models as part of the requirements of the SIG grant:
     Chickasaw Middle School is implementing the Turnaround Model. This model can apply to a school with a newly recruited principal leader who selects new staff, seeks resources for extended days, uses his/her financial autonomy to create financial incentives or more flexible working conditions, and adopts a new instructional program.

There are a total of seven schools that will be in the I-Zone beginning in 2012-13.  Others will be added each year.

• Magnolia Elementary
• Hamilton Middle
• Fairley Elementary
• Geeter Middle
• Ford Road Elementary
• Chickasaw Middle
• Lucie E. Campbell Elementary

  What is the difference between

the Innovation Zone and the ASD schools?   

      There are 69 Priority schools in MCS, or schools that fall in the bottom 5% of schools in the State. Starting in school year 2012-13, the state - through its Achievement School District - will directly run three schools: Frayser Elementary, Corning Elementary and Westside Middle. Three other schools, Lester School, Gordon Elementary and Cypress Middle School, will become Charter Phase- In schools, meaning that specific grade levels will be under charter management in each school with others remaining under MCS management until all grade levels are phased in.
      The seven I-Zone schools are also Priority schools, but they will remain under MCS management, and will receive additional funding to implement new operational and academic changes in order to improve student achievement. The remaining 56 Priority schools will be on a “watch list,” and closely monitored by the district Turnaround Office to ensure those schools are making gains to move off of the Priority list.

     Other schools may be added or dropped during the next few years with the I-Zone process.

What I-Zone means to Chickasaw Middle School


8:00 am - 4:00 pm

     The school day has been extended by an hour.  This extra time will be used for additional and enhanced interventions for our students.  The extra time will also be used for TCAP preparation.


     There are new faces around the school.  We are excited about our new team of expert and talented teachers.  All of our teachers must be at least a level 3 teacher.


The I-Zone grant allows the school to have additional resources for the students.  One of the resources is the use of Academic Coaches.

Memphis City Schools does not discriminate in its programs or employment on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, handicap/disability, sex, or age.  For more information, please contact the Office of Equity Compliance at (901) 416-6670.
Memphis City Schools homepage